The best night EVER!

The last week has been a whirlwind of excitement for me. I generally lead a fairly placid life, filled with knitting, sewing, playdates with the children, trips to the yarn shop, pottering about the garden and general domesticity. We don’t go out much, as we like to be together as a family and the children are still young, so late nights are a rare occurrence for them. We’ve never been away from them for more than an afternoon or the duration of a Harry Potter movie (our annual date for the last few years – what will we do now?!). Anyway, to cut a long story short, I happened to see a tweet from someone I follow regarding a chance to win tickets to see Sarah McLachlan in concert. Now, I can’t begin to tell you how much I love her music and how long I have wanted to see her. Actually, I can. I started listening to her music in about 1993, after my brother gave me her ‘Fumbling Towards Ecstasy’ CD. I was living in the UK at the time and no one there had heard of her. Well, they have now! I am the kind of person that will listen to the same CD repeatedly – over and over and over again. I know that’s redundant, but I had to reinforce the point of how much I listened to her! I’m not the freaky, stalking and hanging-out in her neighbourhood kind of fan, nor do I attempt to know everything about her life, but I do love her music, her style, her artwork and her hair! She was totally different to what my friends were listening to, but it suited me completely. So, you can see I’ve been keen for a good few years. I moved back to Canada in 2002 and was certain I would get chance to see her – eventually! Well, Miss604 hosted a ticket giveaway to the Gala Opening Night of MusicFest Vancouver, so I commented on the blog post and was completely blown away when I received an email to say that I had won 2 tickets!!! Sarah McLachlan performing with the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra, gala opening night, party dress recommended. Does it get any better?!

With the help of my incredible mother, we organized a hotel room for the night for us, as the concert was on the mainland and we live on Vancouver Island. No way of getting back the same day, so we would have to stay over. That meant leaving the children for the first time. I knew they would be in great hands and that they would love to have a sleepover with Grandma, but was more worried about me! However, I’m trying to relax and back off a bit and knew it would be good for all of us. We walked on the ferry, stayed at the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver and picked up our tickets at the Orpheum Theatre just before the show. We were quite worried that something wouldn’t work out, but it all did, beautifully! We had wonderful seats, the theatre was stunning and the performances were amazing. Totally, completely amazing. Brian took great delight in watching the excitement on my face. It was truly a dream come true.

Orpheum Theatre, Vancouver

Orpheum Theatre

Sarah McLachlan

Sarah McLachlan

What more can I say? She was fantastic!

~ by Pip 'n' Milly Creations on August 7, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
