Just finished

I just finished knitting a hat for my daughter and am quite pleased with the result. Of course I am. If I wasn’t, I wouldn’t be posting about it here!! This was not my first hat (6th, actually. Wow.), but it was my first attempt at using beads in my knitting. Let’s just say I am not the sort to be contented with knitting endless samplers and dishcloths. I am so excited about this new hobby/obsession of mine, that I want to learn something new with each project. That said, I am not rushing in to the big project – a cardigan – until I have a good grounding in a range of techniques and have experimented with various yarn types and weights.

Anyway, this is supposed to be about the hat, so here it is:

Milly's beaded hat, variegated purple yarn

Milly's beaded hat

No, that is not Milly, but she was in bed and I didn’t want to wait until tomorrow! The hat is knit in the round on 3.5mm circulars, then finished with DPNs, obviously. I used a variegated purple yarn, a favourite with all three of us girls. It is the Fabel yarn by Drops and is a 75% wool superwash, 25% polyamid. It is the first time I have used it and I like it very much. The colours are great and the yarn felt nice to work with. I will definitely be using it again and think it would work well for socks, gloves and more hats. As for the beads, I have to admit they are nothing special (read: Dollar Store craft section), but the colours are pretty and the effect is subtle. I will be using beads again in future projects.

I am still working on the Helix Scarf KAL, but will no doubt start something else before long. I purchased a pattern for a shawl/wrap from Twist Collective and would love to get started on that. We are going to a wedding in May and I would love to have something special to wear that I have made. No outfit yet, but I’ll think of something!

~ by Pip 'n' Milly Creations on April 13, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
