Helix Scarf Knit Along

I am thoroughly enjoying knitting, so much so that I don’t want to do much else at the moment! Thankfully, I have wholeheartedly embraced circular needles, which means I am able to knit in the car – straight needles are considered rather more dangerous in the event of an accident. I’m a safety girl!

I have decided to join in the Knitting Daily Helix Scarf Knit Along, although I am participating with my LYS (Local Yarn Store). What better way to meet other knitters and get feedback than spending time  in such a lovely store with very helpful and knowledgeable staff and a steady stream of passionate knitters! In case you don’t know, I’m referring to Mad About Ewe in Wesley Street, Nanaimo. When I first started knitting, I was all for getting bargain yarn at Michaels, but it hasn’t taken me long to realize that the knowledge base of the staff at Mad About Ewe far outweighs the bargain factor of Michaels, which has a fair selection of yarns, but they are no help whatsoever if you have any questions.

Anyway, this is what I am working on for the KAL. I have two versions, because I couldn’t quite make my mind up about what to do for it. Once I figured out the pattern and realized it was really straightforward, I wanted to make it more interesting! However, I don’t have beads to fit the first yarn, a merino superwash by Cascade Yarns in a gorgeous, subtly variegated green, so I’m sticking to the pattern.

Helix Scarf KAL in green merino superwash

Helix Scarf KAL in green merino superwash

 

Having said I prefer to shop at the LYS, I still have a fair bit of yarn purchased elsewhere and I had a single ball of Lion Brand “Amazing”, which is a self-striping 53% wool, 47% acrylic mix in the Ruby colourway. It was really pretty and cost 99c, how could I turn it down?! Sadly, there is no way it is going to make a scarf, so I’ll be unravelling it and either using it for something else or changing the pattern to make a narrower Helix Scarf.

Helix Scarf KAL self-striping wool blend in Ruby colourway

Helix Scarf KAL self-striping wool blend

I have other projects on the go and I haven’t show you my new gloves yet, so I’ll be back soon with those.

~ by Pip 'n' Milly Creations on April 4, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
