Year end review, part 2

Our neighbours held a Solstice party again this year and we all had a blast. Every year they have a special surprise and this year they had a harpist play for us! Although I am not remotely talented musically, I have always loved the romanticism and imagery evoked by the harp. The harpist very kindly allowed us not only to touch the harp, but to try to play it – an opportunity enthusiastically embraced by Brian and Philippa in particular.

Brian trying the harp

Brian trying the harp

Pip trying the harp

Pip trying the harp

Thankfully, there is no record of my rather pathetic attempt to look at ease behind this beautiful instrument. I am decidedly unmusical and it shows!

We had a lovely evening with fun and interesting people, great food and wonderful music. Of course we dressed up in our medieval costumes again. I will tell you now that I fully intend to make a new costume for next year. I’m looking forward to learning some new skills and expanding my ‘accomplishments’. I have avoided complicated clothing patterns, but am going to try to ‘feel the fear and do it anyway’.
I made a lot of mincepies this year and even attempted my own mincemeat for the first time ever. It is something I have wanted to do for years and I’m so glad I finally did, as it was delicious. I also made a couple of Christmas cakes, almond and cranberry bark, mint bark and  marzipan. All good. My sugar cookies, on the other hand, were a dismal failure, so I’m not sure I would bother with those again. Must find something else I can make to use my huge selection of cookie cutters! Any suggestions? One of the best gifts I received this year had to be the very elaborate cookie cutter of a Welsh dragon. My brother sent it to me as a reminder of my time at university in Aberystwyth. You can see why I really need a good cut cookie recipe!

I have taken the last couple of weeks to focus on family and have eased off orders for the business, but am looking forward to getting back in the saddle for another productive and exciting year. These are a  few of the things that I made as Christmas gifts for people – customers and my own family.

Some of the handmade gifts from Pip 'n' Milly Creations

Christmas 2010

That’s it for now!

~ by Pip 'n' Milly Creations on January 2, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
