Year end review, part 1

Clearly, I am a total slacker on the blog front! It isn’t much of a surprise that I am not a ‘blogger’ per se. As with the thousands of other very, very quiet corners of blogland, I am usually just talking to myself and that’s ok. I’ll be able to check back and see what I was working on, show far-flung family how much the girls are changing and what progress we have made on the house and garden. Definitely not exciting for most people, but it is nice to have a place to call my own.

Life has been busy and interesting. DD1 started grade 1 in September and has flourished. She is reading very well, her social confidence is improving and she has even accepted that Mum and Dad might actually know a thing or two. She has a lot of nice classmates and isn’t yet embarrassed that I volunteer in the classroom. She has her new hearing aid and is really happy with it and proud to show it off. She is a very mature little girl and is, thankfully, very responsible.

Pip after the dance performance, 2010Pip's dance buddies

DD2 is in preschool and it is hard to believe that she doesn’t start school until 2012. She is a smart little cookie, though still happy to play by herself at preschool. It took her a little while to settle in and be comfortable being left, but she seems to be looking forward to it now, though that may have more to do with getting cheese and crackers for snack time! We are enjoying our time together while big sister is at school.

Three year old clearing snow off the driveway

DH has a new job with a local company and is thrilled to be back in the saddle and not having to commute to Vancouver every day. This is a really big deal for us, as he can be here for breakfast and dinner, see the girls before bed and generally have a ‘normal’ life. Having an income again is comforting, as you can imagine! Brian has released two music tracks in the past year and is continuing to experiment as time allows. The office is close enough that he will be able to walk or cycle to work, if the heavy rain ever lets up.

As for me, I’ve been keeping busy with the household and school routines, sewing for Pip ‘n’ Milly Creations and planning some new products. I did a couple of events this fall and after much deliberation, came to the conclusion that I would focus on making the things I love, rather than trying to please everyone. I don’t want my booth to look like a jumble sale or generic craft fair, but a professional, specialized shop. I am very happy with the decision, though it may mean a reduction in overall sales. I will still make aprons and children’s items on request, but won’t try to keep an inventory of miscellaneous goods. I really don’t want to be making tea cozies and oven mitts!

New hair cut for mePip 'n' Milly display

Healthwise, I am still struggling with my herniated disc. My recovery reached a plateau several months ago and the doctor is concerned that there hasn’t been more progress, so is referring me to the neurosurgeon in Victoria again. I think I’ll have to go for another MRI, too. As we have an income again, I decided it was time to go see Dr Abe Avender, a local chiropractor who specializes in Active Release Therapy and comes highly recommended by many people. He has given me a series of exercises to work on as well as doing some soft tissue work to help break down some of the scarring in my right side. I have even tried reducing and then eliminating my medication, but that has not gone according to plan. I managed a couple of days, but couldn’t bear it in the end and had to take painkillers and anti-inflammatories in the night. Dr Avender has managed to get rid of the burning pain in my shin, but the rest is still there. I will do my best with the exercises and hope to be able to report some improvement soon.

Christmas tree, 2010

Christmas village 1, 2010

Christmas village 1, 2010

Christmas village

Christmas village

Handmade tree and snowman family

handmade ornament

~ by Pip 'n' Milly Creations on December 23, 2010.

2 Responses to “Year end review, part 1”

  1. Fiona, wishing you all the best for a very happy Christmas and a healthy and successful 2011. You have my sympathies for the herniated disc – I had one that caused me back / hip pain for many years . It has now fused naturally and I’m off the medications, but I well remember the pain and how it impacted my life.

    • Thank you for the wishes and the sympathy! I’ve had hip problems for years, then this happened in spring 2009 and it gave me a whole new understanding of and compassion for people suffering chronic pain and illness. The best thing I can say is that at least I am still able to sew!
      Very best wishes for a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

 
