It’s in the blood

I have to admit that I am a very proud mommy! That is a normal state of affairs for many parents, of course, but the source of this current beaming pride is that my daughter made me a handbag at the weekend. You may be aware that I make a lot of bags, handbags, purses etc for other people – and have a fair number myself – but up until now I have never owned one made from construction paper! Completely independently and without a word, she set herself down at the art station, designed and made this little beauty:

Double sided purse made from construction paper by my 6 year old daughter. Includes mirror images on the exterior, outside pocket and interior pocket.

Construction paper purse

She put so much thought into the details and I was really impressed with the process and the end result. Both sides of the purse have mirror image appliques, it has 2 straps, an exterior pocket and an interior pocket. I decided it was a really sweet little purse and that it could easily be translated into fabric. We went through the fabric collection together and pulled out a great combination. In between preparing for an event this week and sewing for that, I worked on this purse for her and hope she is going to be pleased with the outcome.

My fabric version of the paper purse made by my 6 year old daughter.

My interpretation of Pip's purse

Interior of my fabric interpretation of the paper purse made by my 6 year old daughter.

Interior of Pip's new purse

My version is, I think, a pretty fair reproduction of Pip’s paper purse. There is a pocket on the exterior and a lined/divided pocket in the interior, along with a magnetic clip closure. I’ll let you know what she thinks when she sees it tomorrow!

~ by Pip 'n' Milly Creations on October 28, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
