Round-up of the Review Round-Up

I won! It was neck and neck for a lot of the time, but my very loyal and lovely customers, readers and friends helped me squeak through to the lead in the end. Their support has been very touching and encouraging. I couldn’t do any of it without them – where would all the stuff I make fit in the house if I didn’t have customers?!

The competition has spurred some hat orders, something I had not intended or expected. Hats like Nikki’s, with proper interfacing and millinery techniques, are not quick, which in turn puts them out of the budgetary comfort zone of many people. I’m really looking forward to making more, both for myself and fellow hat-lovers.

As a testament of my excitement at winning the top prize, I have already placed my order and burnt through my winnings! The lovely Leah held my hand through the process and packed up my order and sent it on its way before I went to bed last night (yay for the time difference!). My motive for ordering what I did, is that I chose the patterns that I hoped would teach me the most. There is always room for learning more! To that end, I ordered the Baguette, the Carry All, the Kids’ Hats, the Fedora and the Make-Up Purse. I already make a zippered pouch just like this, but the zipper technique Nikki uses looks more streamlined, so a good lesson there.

I have also recently ordered some books through Amazon and and am anticipating taking the time to actually sit down, read and learn. When I look back at my first bags I realize how far I have come. I have accepted that the girls are really not into the clothes I make for them, so I am directing my efforts elsewhere! Bags and hats really delight me. I do have some plans to work on some clothes for myself, but the fear of taking measurements and being realistic is making me delay those intentions!

Off now to do another happy dance and enjoy the summer sunshine. It won’t be long before school begins again for Pip and Milly starts preschool without me. That will be a strange day. Pip at school all day and Milly going off on her own for 2 1/2 hours. Whatever will I do with myself?! I can tell you now that housework is not going to be on the agenda!

~ by Pip 'n' Milly Creations on August 17, 2010.

3 Responses to “Round-up of the Review Round-Up”

  1. Sounds like fun purchases!! 🙂 Enjoy! It’ll be so weird for Ella to be away all day once she starts Grade 1! 😦

  2. Congrats on the big win…you deserve it. Can’t wait to see the new creations…

    • Thanks, ladies! I was thrilled, as you may have gathered. I have now received my patterns and just need to get some pattern card for tracing out the patterns so I can get started.

Leave a Reply

 
