Super secret birthday gift

Super secret birthday gift

Originally uploaded by Pip ‘n’ Milly Creations

I have in the past made a variety of clothing items for my daughters, not all of which have been well received, sadly. Our older girl is quite particular, but very tactful and generally polite about it. I always know that if she says “It’s beautiful. I’ll wear it tomorrow.” I have failed in some small detail, such as not noticing that one of the hundreds of butterflies in a print has some brown in it. This time I decided to avoid that potential trauma and make a bag instead, for an upcoming birthday. It was an experiment and I am quite happy with the overall result, even if there are a few things I would change next time. The bonus of making a bag is that even if she decides she doesn’t like it, I can actually use it myself!
The bag is one of the smaller messenger bags I make, though I have left out a lot of the details I would normally incorporate, as our soon-to-be 6 year old does not need a cellphone pocket, key clip etc. I even left out the normal fleece interfacing, as I wanted it to be very lightweight for her. The bag has an adjustable strap, inner pockets and a ruffled flap.
I hope she likes it – and that I can find somewhere to hide it until next week! I realize that it isn’t really a super secret gift, as I have now made it public, but my daughter doesn’t read my blog and it is really only a secret from her! Now to keep it that way for another few days….

~ by Pip 'n' Milly Creations on May 27, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
