Restorative yoga

As you probably know, because I complain about it frequently, I managed to give myself a herniated disk in April 2009. It has been many months of, at times, unbearable pain as the bulging disk pressed against my sciatic nerve, causing severe muscle spasms and intense shooting pain down my right leg. I kid you not. Nor am I overstating just how debilitating this injury has been for me and how disruptive it has been for the family. In the end, DH had to take over laundry, dishes, bathing the children, shopping and he even had to help me get dressed many times. Thankfully, I am finally recovering and feeling much more like my normal self again. Chronic pain is exhausting, but I have learned to pace myself better and ask for help when I need it.

I am incredibly fortunate that I was not forced to give up sewing, as we managed to alter the components of my studio that would have caused trouble, namely the cutting table, ironing board and the sewing machine itself. Everything has been raised up so that I don’t have to bend at all. The chair is the only comfortable place for me to sit, so it has been my refuge.

Anyway, the point of all that is that I am now at a point where I can start to increase my activity level slightly, so I have joined a restorative yoga class to help me regain some core strength and, hopefully, reduce the chance of re-injury in the future. Unfortunately, it is likely that this will always be a weak spot for me now. Knowing my own nature, I knew I needed to be in a class where the instructor understood this kind of injury and would be sensitive to my lack of mobility. Left to my own devices I would push too hard and ruin my fragile recovery. My tendency is to be competitive, so I didn’t want to be with a group where I was likely to give in to that impulse!

With the new class, and a pretty new mat, came the perfect excuse to try something I have wanted to make for ages: a yoga mat bag. I have never had a good excuse before, so now I do! In the midst of sewing a big order, I set aside some time to work on a project for me and this is what I came up with:

Lined yoga mat bag

The bag is lined with a contrasting print, has a wide, adjustable strap, drawstring closure, key clip and multiple pockets. Once I have tested it out for a few classes, I will have an idea whether there are other features I need to incorporate, such as a water bottle pocket.

Side view

Interior

Yoga frog

Mum gave me the yoga frog for my birthday. Still on the hunt for a winking frog, of course!

~ by Pip 'n' Milly Creations on May 20, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
