Spring is in the air

I love this time of year. Just when we are all getting a little fed up with the rain and the cold, along comes my favourite season. I find the garden in winter rather depressing, soggy and unpleasant, so it is such a pleasure to open the blind in the morning and see the cherry tree in full bloom, the grass, what there is of it, getting longer by the day, and the rhubarb flourishing. I can see renewal and energy and change and I welcome it with open arms.

Cherry tree

This year, I know, will be different. Normally I am out there as soon as the new growth starts to show, planning, weeding and tidying after the winter. I spend many hours outdoors with the girls, encouraging them to play so I can do my work around the garden. The vegetable garden alone is 750 sq ft and the lot is nearly 11,000 sq ft, so there is always a lot to do! Unfortunately, as much as I love it, I can’t deny that gardening can be back breaking – which is exactly what happened to me last year and left me with a herniated disk. Against all my instincts and inclinations, I am operating in a purely supervisory capacity this year and directing activities around the garden instead. My wonderful mother has already been and done a lot of weeding and rock moving. Brian is on standby for any construction work which needs to be done.

Tulips

We really have to build a new shed this year, but that means getting rid of the tree stump….not such an easy task! We are planning to lay out soaker hoses through the veggie garden BEFORE planting this year. We have discovered from experience that trying to lay the soaker hoses after planting isn’t very effective!  We need new raspberry supports and a simple archway to support the growth from the grapevines. The list never gets any shorter!

There will be plenty more photos over the next few months, as the garden grows.

Rhubarb

~ by Pip 'n' Milly Creations on April 23, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
