Handbag love

I have done it again. Made another bag that I love so much I will have a hard time parting with it! The first two that I made in this style were “bought” by my husband and given to me for Christmas! I designed this shoulder bag as an alternative to the super roomy ones I had been using when the girls were small and I carried endless supplies around with me – part of my never-sending pursuit of super organized mummy status! I know it will never happen, but still I try! Now that the girls are older, I don’t really need to carry changes of clothes, snacks, colouring books, drinks etc, so I can get away with carrying my wallet, essentials pouch (more on that in another post), cellphone, business cards, pen, notepad, handkerchief and keys.

This one of a kind bag is small in size, but big on style. In this particular incarnation, it is made in a super soft, luxurious metallic vinyl with a gorgeous pearlescent shimmer. The strap measures 23″ and the bag itself is 12.5″ across the bottom, 2″ wide and 8″ high. The interior features 2 coordinating buttery yellow prints by Joel Dewberry, a metallic clasp closure, key clip and two sets of divided pockets.

Pearlescent vinyl shoulder bag

Under flap, divided pockets

Interior

I might even take some better pictures in the daylight, now that the sun is shining and the girls are with grandma for the afternoon. I love this gorgeous vinyl so much that I am probably going to have to make something for myself. There is no such thing as too many handbags, right?

~ by Pip 'n' Milly Creations on April 14, 2010.

7 Responses to “Handbag love”

  1. Love the new purse, Fiona! Beautiful! And so sneaky of your husband to purchase two bags from you to give to YOU! How sweet!! 🙂

  2. Oh wow, I love how you used such a fun and pretty fabric inside, very nice surprize!

  3. Thank you both!

  4. Beautiful!! I have such a weakness for purses!

  5. It’s beautiful! I love the fabric!

  6. Very pretty bag, and a beautiful job you did on it! I love purses and bags… My own “collection” is practically squeezing me out of my own room! Nice to meet you today! ~tina

  7. Thank you all so very much. It really is a lovely little purse, but I can’t keep them all and I never duplicate, so I will content myself with making something different. I have so many plans! I have another piece of this luxurious vinyl in a dark brown / bronze colour and I am thinking of a new messenger bag….ooh, or maybe the trapezium bag! Must get sewing!

Leave a Reply

 
