Don’t give up the day job

OK, so I agree, I am not an artist. But I am still going to try! I am very product driven, in that I like to do things that are productive, that have a purpose or that simply get things done. In general I am not really bothered about relaxing  or chilling out – I would rather be doing something constructive. This also impacts my sewing, as I focus on making things which are functional, rather than decorative. That said, I recently decided that I wanted to try painting. I have always wanted to be able to draw and I think it would be helpful in designing the items I make if I can actually get my ideas down on paper in a recognizable form! I am practicing some sketching, but have also been playing with paints, essentially with colours, rather than trying to paint an object or a scene. That will be a long time coming!

Mum's painting

See that? Trying to disown the painting by calling the image “Mum’s painting”! I doubt anyone would be kind enough to call it “art”, but it is bright and visually impacting, so it works for her and the colours make me happy. The good thing is that I am still willing to experiment and I happily spent some free time on Wednesday indulging myself and not worrying about the fact that I wasn’t dusting or doing laundry. It is ok not to feel guilty about neglecting the housework, right? At least once in a while!

~ by Pip 'n' Milly Creations on April 11, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
