Getting arty

I would never in a million years describe myself as artistic, perhaps because I have quite a narrow definition of the term in my head. Perhaps because I have never been any good at drawing. I wish I could draw well, just like I wish I could sing in tune. Apparently I can’t. Who knew?! It sounds just fine in my head, but the horrified, bemused looks I used to get in school assembly for my vigorous renditions would seem to indicate otherwise. Someone once said to me “You really are tone deaf, aren’t you?”. Seriously, I had no idea. It would seem that my daughter follows in my family’s footsteps in the musical department, singing “perfectly off key”. Sounded normal to me, but to my musically inclined husband, not so much! He generally finds it amusing, but I think it must be a similar feeling to when I have to listen to people badly imitating accents. Drives me crazy and makes me want to scratch my ears!

Anyway, I digress. I am decidedly unmusical and lacking in artistic skills. Creative, undoubtedly. As parents, we are very keen to encourage and support the children in their interests and inclinations, something which my own parents were particularly good at. They never openly mocked our latest interests, fascinations, obsessions or plans. They never pushed, but did encourage us to develop our interests, do our research etc. Well, our girls love to draw and paint, so we decided to make a special area for them – partly so we didn’t have to clear everything off the dining table every mealtime. We made them a “Creation Station” along one wall of our spacious dining area, where they have access to all their supplies and don’t have to pack things away so we can eat. We also like to display their artwork, so they know we are proud of what they do and value their work. Philippa has recently been very interested in painting, so we bought her some canvasses and acrylic paints and she has been busy filling them up with all manner of pictures.

The Creation Station is not quite complete, as we need another rail and pots for Milly, as well as an extension of the surface for a simple laptop. We like to be able to look things up when they ask questions and there are a few online games Pip likes to play. We have made a few changes since these photos, mostly reorganizing supplies to give the girls more room to create. They love the space and use it every day.

The girls at the art table

Creation Station

Have to get ready for school and get off the computer! To be continued…….

~ by Pip 'n' Milly Creations on March 23, 2010.

2 Responses to “Getting arty”

  1. I love this idea! I’ve been trying to define a space for my little ones to get crafty and this has given me some great ideas. Thanks for sharing!

    • We are a pretty resourceful crew around here and very keen to use what we have. The art table is half of an old bi-fold door that we no longer needed! It had been in the garage for years and we finally found a use for it! DH sprayed expanding foam into the door to solidify it, then added a piece of MDF underneath to cover the recessed panels and so there was something to attach the brackets to. We bought heavy duty brackets from Home Depot to ensure that it could withstand the pressure of kids leaning on it. He then painted it all white and mounted it at the same height as our dining table so they can use the normal chairs. It has worked out beautifully and the girls have their own space to create, just like we do!

Leave a Reply

 
