My Dad

Today marks four years since my Dad died from cancer. He was diagnosed with multiple myeloma in the spring of 2001, underwent countless procedures and treatments, including radiation, chemotherapy and a stem cell transplant. The cancer took over the last years of his life, but it did not define him. He died at the age of 59, but did more in those years than many do in 90 years. He was an explorer, traveller, cook, businessman, restaurateur, football fan, husband, father and grandfather. He was my Dad and I miss him still.

Dad in Antarctica, 1968

Dad, first on the left, middle row

Dad, Antarctica 1968-69

Mum and Dad

Dad holding our baby for the first time

Dad and Pip

Dad's birthday cake

Dad in Sydney

Grandad and Poppa colouring on the floor with Pip, New Year's Eve 2005

~ by Pip 'n' Milly Creations on February 26, 2010.

3 Responses to “My Dad”

  1. Oh Fiona what a beautiful post…your dad looked like he lived his life to the fullest…I can understand why you would miss him…I don’t think one ever gets over the loss of a parent…hugs leanne

  2. hey fiona that was wondefull this is your brother andrew and beth just showed me this site very nice and dad would be proud lots of love

  3. Fiona! what an excellent post! Thank you for sharing this with me! I would hope if anything should ever happen to me, someone would love me enough to do the same!

Leave a Reply

 
