New hats

Happy New Year! In order to celebrate the new year – and battle the dreariness of the post-Christmas blahs and the grey days of the West Coast, I made myself a bright new hat using the adult hat by Nicole Mallalieu. Hats are not particularly quick or easy to make, but oh so satisfying!

New year, new hat

I was quite pleased with how this turned out. It is a great rain hat, but will also be awesome in the summer time.

I love that hat, but also wanted something a little more “subdued”, so I made another yesterday afternoon while the girls were with Grandma. I used some raspberry-coloured corduroy which I bought to make their wall pockets for Christmas (I’ll be posting about that project when I take decent daytime pics) and a gorgeous purple satin print fabric I found at a thrift store last fall. I have been waiting for the perfect opportunity to use it and I have enough left for a handbag lining. I am so happy with me new hat and it matches a new sweater perfectly! I felt very polished and elegant when I went grocery shopping this morning!

Raspberry corduroy hat

With upturned brim

Lining

~ by Pip 'n' Milly Creations on January 8, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
