A good day

Today has been a really good day, despite having been woken far too early by the children, who should be enjoying the last few remaining lie-ins before kindergarten starts. I actually like to get up early, but it is somehow easier if you get yourself up early, rather than be woken by someone else.

Last night I buckled down to making a dress (Simplicity 4927) for Philippa. I am a little scared of patterns and also of the recurring rejection from the little madam. I have made a number of things for her, only to have her “promise to wear it tomorrow”, which is her way of saying she doesn’t like something. The last thing was a pink tiered twirly skirt which she wore happily for months, before discovering that one of the butterflies on it has some brown in it. I try not to take it personally, but I am not very good at that! I swear each time that it will be the last and that I will stop making things for her, but I keep going back for more. This time, I can ecstatically report that she actually liked the dress and wore it all day today – without needing to be persuaded! It turned out really well and she says it is very comfy. She likes that it can be worn with or without leggings and that she can still move and climb without it getting in the way. I think it will be a great piece, as it will fit her for a long time – without looking too much like a sack now. I am considering making her a shorter version as a shirt, as I think it would look really cute.

Picking grapes

Picking grapes

Inspecting the grapes

Inspecting the grapes

Grapes in our garden.

Grapes in our garden.

I also managed to make a pair of pants for Milly today, as per her request. She wanted trousers with pockets and she wanted them right away, so, never one to turn down an opportunity to sew, I made them for her while the girls watched Shrek 2 in the living room next to me. I use the same fabrics as for Pip’s dress, but switched them round. I didn’t take any pictures, but will try to get some soon.

We also went swimming together this afternoon, which was a lot of fun.

~ by Pip 'n' Milly Creations on August 30, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
