Birthday goodies

I had my birthday a few days ago, our daughter is turning 5 next week, the gardening season is definitely upon us and I have also been busy sewing birthday gifts for multiple parties, so I have been neglecting my poor blog. I promise to get back in the swing of things very soon, with lots of pictures and news of creative excitement. Well, excitement for me, anyway!

For my birthday, my lovely mother gave me two thread holders. I had 3 clear thread boxes, but they took up quite a bit of space on the desk and I was always putting stuff on top of them. This solution is awesome!! I now have space for 120 spools, which is fine for now. Despite being able to almost fill them both, I find there are a few colours I still need, so when I get those I can shift some of the extra whites to my sewing box. I had to include the embellishment storage unit in the photos because I love it so much!

thread racks

thread racks

The weather has been fantastic for the last few days and we have been spending a lot of time outside. If we didn’t need to feed the children, we would probably be out there until it gets dark. It is such a busy time of year in the garden and so much needs to be done to get set for the season, but I really, really enjoy it. Every day I am thrilled to see what changes are happening, what new growth has come up, what new joy our lovely space has to offer. I feel refreshed and peaceful, even though I know I still need to keep pace with weeding, more seeds need to be planted, etc. We all love this beautiful place. I haven’t been quite as vigorous with the work for the last few weeks, thanks to my injured back, but between us we are managing it all.

Pip’s 5th birthday is next week. I will be back tomorrow with details of the plans for the festivities, as well as some shots of the garden, hopefully! The picture below was taken a couple of weeks ago and it looks different already. The rhubarb in the background has been fantastic this year and I hope we get an equally good crop of cherries. Back soon!

cherry tree and rhubarb

cherry tree and rhubarb

~ by Pip 'n' Milly Creations on May 26, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
