Recent happenings at The Winking Frog

Even before we had children, we wanted a wooden train set, but couldn’t bring ourselves to pay the high prices of most of the sets. We did get a few pieces from Ikea, but didn’t quite have enough to make an interesting layout. Last weekend, on a whim, we stopped off at a garage sale near our home and scored 2 boxes of wooden train stuff. After a scrub and quick sanding of the rough bits, we found we had to buy a new tote to accommodate it all! Yippee!

Train layout

Train layout

Funky Fashion Day at Preschool

Last week Pip had “Funky Fashion Day” at her preschool. She was very excited about it and this is what she came up with:

Funky Fashion Day

Funky Fashion Day

She really does have her own unique style and I am pretty sure she would wear this on a normal day, even though she is not overly keen on the colour combination of the tutu.

Custom order

A friend asked me to make a tutu and a crown for her daughter’s birthday. Like many little girls, she is interested in fairies and princesses. She has lots of “favourite” colours, which included blues and greens, so I went with something a little different to my own daughter’s obsession with pink and purple. Something along the lines of water nymph, rather than woodland or sugarplum fairy! I found some lovely pale blue, teal and jade tulle and felt in similar shades for the crown. I found some turquoise, floral ribbon in my stash and some pretty shell buttons to embellish the crown. I am not convinced about the “Princess” ribbon, but we’ll see. I hope it fits her mom’s vision, but if not, I will happily head to the fabric store again!

water nymph tutu

water nymph tutu

Birthday crown

Birthday crown

Sewing for me!

I have always been afraid of patterns, which is quite odd, because I really am the sort of person who generally likes to follow the rules, have guidelines etc. Anyway, to cut a long story short, I am becoming more comfortable with them and have finally made a skirt for myself. I think the problem might just be that I don’t want to have to measure myself! My grandma sent me a pattern and it was just the sort of skirt I like to wear: long and flowy. I found a pretty black crepe with pink roses and set to. It served to remind me that I really don’t like to cut crepe, chiffon, georgette etc etc. It moves and shifts and is generally a pain. Masking tape came in very handy to hold the stuff down while I attempted to cut the 6 pieces out. I managed not to bleed on the fabric after I accidentally cut myself with my new rotary cutter. I did the same with the last fresh blade, too. They are so sharp and the slightest touch on your skin reminds you how very careful you have to be!

My new skirt

My new skirt

Science experiments

Breakfast table science experiment with the girls: playing with water and finding what floats and what sinks.

Science experiments

Science experiments

Exploring nature with Grandma

This afternoon the girls borrowed magnifying glasses from Grandma so they could explore nature up close. The bonus of having weeds in the lawn is that they have really tiny, pretty flowers right now! Perfect for magnifying glass practice.

Up close and personal with nature

Up close and personal with nature

Investigating weeds in the lawn

Investigating weeds in the lawn

~ by Pip 'n' Milly Creations on April 25, 2009.

2 Responses to “Recent happenings at The Winking Frog”

  1. My wee girl would be in heaven at your house… TRAINS!!! Oh – and Fairy costumes… and a grandma…. Wow! Heaven on a stick!

  2. We live just a few streets again from Mum. She recently retired and is loving being able to spend time with the girls. I really love being with her too, and we have a lot of fun together. She never had much interest in shopping before, but she has turned into a really great shopping companion! Retiring from catering has reignited her interest in cooking and we have been having a blast making fresh pasta, bread, cheese, fabulous desserts – the list goes on! Not so good for the waistline, but so delicious!

Leave a Reply

 
