Spring is on the way!

The first order of business today is to tell you that Grosgrain has a fabulous new giveaway going on at the moment. Click here: GROSGRAIN GIVEAWAY to check out the work of this very talented – and incredibly generous – woman.

We had a lovely playdate today with some old friends and some new ones. Pip declared recently that she wanted to see strangers so that we could make some new friends! We had a great time. The children played really well together and there were no tears, which is always good. By the end of playdate they had played cars, dolls, dress-up, had a snack and performed a little dance show for the moms, so I think it was a success!

I sewed up a mini storm this week, trying to get samples made to show my friends so I hope to be able to post pictures over the weekend. I made a little apron, bib, frilled half apron with pockets, small bag and a skirt. I also spent an unfeasibly long time cutting out pieces for a bag I am making for a friend. I will start sewing it together tomorrow. I am going to take my time, as I do not want to have to cut it all out again if I mess up!

It has been very windy here for the last couple of days, but it died down this afternoon and me and the girls were able to get outside for a couple of hours. The sun was shining, the birds were chirping and the neighbours’ dog didn’t bark at us. The girls played quite contentedly in the sandbox and let me get on with tidying up the garden after months of winter neglect. I love, love, love being in the garden, digging, planting, planning new beds and working out where the crops need to be rotated to this year. I keep a garden journal so I can keep track of what we have planted where. One day we hope to be a little more organized about it, beyond the planting  and growing stages! We tend to get a bit lax around harvest time and I am guilty of leaving things in buckets on occasion! I think I might invest in a hod with a mesh bottom so that I can wash the dirt off outside, rather than filling my kitchen sink with soil.

We grow rhubarb, raspberries, grapes, strawberries, herbs, peas, runner beans, lettuce, beets, carrots, cucumbers, tomatoes, zucchini, peppers, onions and sometimes potatoes. We also have 3 young apple trees and 3 lovely cherry trees. I would really like to try sweet potatoes this year, too. There are so many things we would like to try! I spent a lot of time last year trying to protect the garden from the ravages of a toddler. We even contemplated fencing it to keep her from eating everything before it go chance to grow to a decent size. The perimeter of the back garden is fenced to keep the deer out, but little Milly was just as destructive! At least she was eating her greens! Poor Brian hardly gets a look in when it come to strawberries, raspberries and peas.

As for flower beds, I think I have almost run out of places to add new ones. My husband will not tolerate me cutting beds into the middle of his lawn, so I stick to the fenceline. I have one stretch left, but we can’t quite decide what to do with it. We fancy the idea of growing some bamboo, if we can find one suitable that will not become too rampant and upset the neighbours at the top of the garden. We need to build a new shed, too, as well as some compost bins, so I don’t think we’ll be getting bored any time soon. Brian was laid off and finished work last week and has been going non-stop on projects around the house. I think he will be glad to find a new job so he can have a rest!

~ by Pip 'n' Milly Creations on April 3, 2009.

One Response to “Spring is on the way!”

  1. I just love gardening too. This year I am really going to give it a go and get my veggie garden started. We are going to fence off the front yard so this will keep the toddler in and deer out. But like you said I am not sure who will do more damage!!! I have made a garden area for them that they can do whatever they want, but some how they find there way to were I am!!

    Loving this warmer weather. I am slowly washing the winter garments and putting them away!

    I keep checking to see if my mason bees have come out but they seem to be still sleeping!

    Look forward to checking out your garden in more detail

Leave a Reply

 
