New toys

I made my first stuffed toys yesterday, using a pattern from Diana Rupp’s book “Sew Everything Workshop”. I think they turned out fairly well, but I know I will get better with practise. The trickiest part is the intersection between 3 pieces – but stuffing isn’t quite as easy as you might think! I am going to do some research into what I can use that would be machine washable. If anyone has any advice, I would love to hear it.

The first elephant is for Milly and already has eyes, but no name. We are not really into elaborate naming around here. “Gromit” came with his name, “Panda” is a panda and “Talking Doggy” is a dog hand puppet! The girls also both have imaginary babies called “Oscar”! That’s not to say that we are lacking in imagination! Actually, I really don’t know why we don’t name things….I know I didn’t as a child, so it isn’t something we think too much about. Hey, at least we named the children!

I digress. Elephant 2 isn’t quite finished yet, as I need to embroider some eyes, as it is for a baby and I don’t want to use buttons. I might try to make another this weekend in a different fabric, perhaps something blue. The baby hasn’t been born yet, so I wanted to make it in a unisex colourway.

Elephant 1

Elephant 1

E. version 2

E. version 2

~ by Pip 'n' Milly Creations on March 7, 2009.

2 Responses to “New toys”

  1. Fi!! LOVE this, it is so cute!! Wow, great job! 😀

  2. I love those fabrics!

    Thanks for stopping by and celebrating my 100th post with me!

Leave a Reply

 
