Mama's got a brand new bag

I am supposed to be making bags to sell, but, truth be told, I am having a hard time letting go of this one! I am so pleased with this little beauty. The exterior is decor weight fabric, lined with a coordinating quilting cotton and interlined with fleece for a softly structured feel. I haven’t quite got the hang of working with iron in interfacing and I like the feel the fleece gives the bags. The interior of this has a key clip and a divided pocket for a cellphone, pen and notepad. Guess who is a list-writer!

Floral bag with bamboo handles

Other side of floral bag

Interior of floral bag

~ by Pip 'n' Milly Creations on January 30, 2009.

6 Responses to “Mama's got a brand new bag”

  1. That is absolutely LOVELY! All of it, the bamboo handles, the fabric, the lining…..just the way I would like it, too! Great Job!

  2. Thank you so much! It really is rather lovely. I only bought one set of handles, so I might have to keep this one…

  3. Oooooohhh, lovely! Do you have any of that fabric left?

  4. Karen, yes I do. Let me know if there is something you would like.

  5. I’ve never thought of interlining with fleece… hmmm….

    Lovely job. I like the colors! I would have a hard time letting go of that one too.

  6. Thanks, Sarah. In the end I couldn’t part with it! I decided it was better to keep it myself, test the style, and use it as an opportunity to show it off and perhaps generate some interest in my work!

    I interline with fleece because I haven’t had much success with interfacing. I like my bags to be washable if possible and have found that the interfacing puckers when washed. The fleece gives a nice, softly structured feel, but doesn’t look like quilting.

Leave a Reply

 
