Not loving the running tonight

Yeah, like it says. Not loving the running so much tonight. Once upon a time I was moderately athletic. Not talented, but I tried hard. I, like many, many people, reduced my exercise and subsequent fitness level as I got older and busier. Then I discovered the gym and loved it. When I lived in London I would go regularly, then again when we lived in Brighton. When we moved over here and got married we continued to go to the gym together. which was great. Very motivating and enjoyable. I would go early in the morning after dropping my husband off at the ferry, right up until just before our first daughter was born. Now I know it is important to make time for oneself etc etc, but we made a commitment to each other and our family and we spend as much time together as we can. We don’t often go off and do things separately, so going to the gym is not something we make a priority. However, we understand the importance of exercise and setting a good example for our children, so we invested in a treadmill a couple of years ago. That way we can run when we feel like it, stop when we need to and it is there as a constant reminder! Not folded away or hidden, right out in the open in our dining room.

Anyway, sorry for the rambling – brain not functioning too well just now. I made it a personal goal at the end of 2007 that in 2009 I would run a 5km race. Now this might not sound like much to you fit and healthy people out there – or even to those sewing machine potatoes like myself, but I wanted to set a reasonable, achievable goal. The point is that I have restated my goal publicly and am working to make it happen. I am running just over 2 miles (3.5km) every other day. Doesn’t seem to be getting any easier yet! It really isn’t as much fun as sewing, but hopefully the thought of being able to make clothes for myself will spur me on!

~ by Pip 'n' Milly Creations on January 13, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
