Random craftiness

The new year has begun and so far, so good! We have had more snow, so are not going far. I don’t believe in driving in the snow if you don’t have to. We are not going to starve any time soon and most other things can wait until the roads have cleared a little more. As much as I like a bargain, there is nothing I need enough to struggle through the ice, snow and slush with 2 little ones in tow!

I haven’t been playing with the girls enough, what with the post Christmas clean up and visitors, but I haven’t forgotten that resolution yet! Must try harder…

The evenings, once the girls get to sleep, have been quite productive for me. I had a brief lull in crafting over the Christmas period, while I flicked through some new crafty books, but I am now refreshed and raring to go! I have an order for a deluxe across the body bag, from a repeat customer. I think it is a very good sign that she has bought several different bags for herself, but is now buying one for someone else. And she isn’t even related to me! I ran out of the coordinating lining fabric for her bag, so while I was waiting for a break in the weather so I could get to the fabric store, I worked on a couple of other bags to sell. Not sure I can part with them now! Before Christmas I bought some faux-croc vinyl which is super soft and lovely. I paired it with some red paisley and made two shoulder bags, one with a flap and one without. The interiors are similar and have a zippered pocket and a divided pocket for cellphone, pen and notepad as well as a key clip so there is never again the frantic key hunt. The bags are a great size and will easily carry a large wallet, travel wipes, diaper, first aid kit, tape measure, hankies, keys, phone, notepad, pen and even  a camera. Now you know what I carry with me every day! Bet you feel better for knowing that, don’t you?!

One of the Christmas gifts I made for our youngest was a duvet cover and pillowcase in a lovely pink toile, as seen below. This is not how I intended to put the photos in, but I am having trouble figuring it all out, so this will have to do for tonight.

We have been needing to re-cover our dining chairs for some time and I finally managed it yesterday. Cream/beige is not the best colour with little children and their messy hands, but they have lasted well and they were bought with the intention on re-upholstering when necessary. The store didn’t have enough of the fabric we both loved, so I made an executive decision and chose something a bit dull, but very sensible and hardwearing. We have plenty of time ahead for glamour! By which time we will have grandchildren and we will be back to practical! Anyway, the fabric was very reasonably priced, so it won’t be too irksome if we decide to do it again in a year or two. The first chair is before, the green one is the after shot.

I hope to be back again soon with some new project photos, if I can decide what to do first!

~ by Pip 'n' Milly Creations on January 4, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
