Christmas Day menu and agenda

Merry Christmas one and all! I hope you have a wonderful day. We are all set now and just have to wait a few short hours until the girls wake up and realize what day it is! Should be a lot of fun.

The general plan for the day will be to open the stockings, have breakfast, prepare the veggies for Christmas dinner, then go back upstairs to open presents. There are only 5 of us here this year, so it will be a bit quieter than in the past, but I think the girls will make up the difference in noise level! They are 4 1/2 and nearly 2, so really fantastic ages for experiencing the magic of Christmas.

Dinner this year, as every year that I have been in charge (!), will be roast chicken, roast potatoes and parsnips, carrots, sprouts, bacon wrapped sausages, rosemary scented gravy, sage and onion stuffing, Yorkshire Puddings and homemade cranberry sauce. The sage, rosemary etc come from our herb garden, but it is currently under nearly 3 feet of snow, far across the garden, so I am not sure we will be using it this year! For dessert we will be having a Ballard family favourite, banoffee pie. This is utterly divine: a digestive biscuit base, topped with a layer of smooth caramel, then a layer of sliced banana and finished with a layer of espresso cream. It might not sound that great if, like me, you don’t like bananas or coffee, but trust me, it is completely fabulous!

I have also made mince pies and cherry pies, so we will not be going hungry!

I have been “lucky” that I haven’t had to wrap much, partly because we didn’t overdo it, but also because I made fabric gift bags last year and am using them again this year. If you have never tried this approach to gift-wrapping, I heartily recommend it. Not only is it good for the environment, as you don’t end up with piles of rubbish that can’t be recycled due to the high ink content, it saves so much time and money. Any Christmas fabric I see in the sales will be turned into a batch of bags for next year. I even used pillowcases for larger items this year and tied them with a big ribbon bow.

I will have to post pics of my new apron later, as I really must get to bed.

Happy feasting and Merry Christmas!

~ by Pip 'n' Milly Creations on December 25, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
