Favourite Children's Books

When I am reading stories to my youngest daughter, I often think how much I enjoy certain books and that I really ought to share the titles with others. I am sure everyone has their favourites and these two are mine. Try them out and see what you think. They were given to us for our first daughter by my uncle, who read them to his boys when they were small. They are both by Janet and Allen Ahlberg. The first is “Peepo!” and the second is “Each Peach Pear Plum”. If you haven’t read them, please do. You won’t regret it.

This article / interview with Allen Ahlberg makes very interesting reading, too.

Other family favourites are “The Very Hungry Caterpillar”, of course, and a recent discovery, “Goodnight Moon”, which apparently everyone in the world had read except for me and my husband. Ooh, just thought of another one, “The Scrubby-Bubbly Car Wash” written by Irene O’Garden and illustrated by Cynthia Jabar. This fabulous book is a firm favourite of both the girls and us.

On a side note, I have been quite busy with crafting and will try to post some decent photographs this week. Also planning a post on Christmas traditions. Bye for now!

~ by Pip 'n' Milly Creations on November 30, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
