Christmas Cake 2008, phase 1

Ever since my husband and I moved in together I have made a Christmas cake. For me, it was one of those things that signalled I was a grown-up. Like having to pay bills, but a lot more fun! I got the original recipe from my mother-in-law, but have had to modify it as some of the ingredients were not available when we moved to Canada. I start the cake in November and begin by mixing the fruit and leaving it to soak in alcohol overnight. I generally use brandy and cointreau, though I have also used Calvados.

This is the fruit mix for this year: raisins, golden sultana raisins, dates, prunes, apricots, currants, cranberries and cherries. I may add some glace cherries when I have been to the store.

Update: I didn’t add the glace cherries in the end. I baked the cake yesterday and tried a tiny bit (just to make sure it was ok!). It is pretty good and will be even better in 3 weeks when it has had additions of brandy and Cointreau and I have iced it. I just need to get hold of some rollable fondant icing or some glucose so I can make my own. Michaels had sold out of both when I was there yesterday.

~ by Pip 'n' Milly Creations on November 19, 2008.

3 Responses to “Christmas Cake 2008, phase 1”

  1. I’ve never tried Christmas cake before but it sounds delicious! Please post pictures when it’s finished. You’ve really piqued my interest now!

  2. Yum! I’ve always wanted to try making one myself. Do you have a favorite recipe?
    Becky

  3. I do – and I will make that my next post!

Leave a Reply

 
