Seven years on

I’m always amazed at how fast the years seem to pass by. Days and weeks sometimes go slowly, but when you sit back and consider, the years are whizzing by. How else can seven years have gone by since our baby was born? I have always known that I wanted children. All my life. However, I also knew I didn’t want them until I was at least 25, had finished university, had a good job, married and settled somewhere. I had no idea when, where or who until the day I met Brian. I had already made my decision to return to Canada to be near my family, having been essentially on my own for over 8 years. Wow, see, how did all those years pass by so fast?! Anyway, the night I met Brian, the plans shifted somewhat. To cut a long story short, we have been together ever since and moved to Canada 18 months later, married 2 weeks after that, bought a house a year later and had Philippa 10 months after that.

The excitement and anticipation of our first child was immense, of course. All the grandparents were around and eagerly awaiting her arrival. The day began much like today – sun shining, blue skies and a deer pacing the fence line, trying to find a way in so it could feast on our garden. I was 5 days past my expected due date, but if anyone suspected that I might be in labour, they never mentioned it to me! 12.15 was the time I realized something might be happening. Philippa was delivered by emergency C-section at 2.42. I’ll spare you all the details, suffice to say nothing went as planned or imagined or hoped and the poor thing was very sick indeed.

our baby daughter, sick in the special care unit

Philippa in the special care unit

She had dislocated hips, low Apgar score, meconium aspiration, seizures. They gave us a worst case scenario that she might not survive the week or that she might be brain damaged, but she is definitely a fighter and has gone from those scary early days, to this:

our daughter on her 7th birthday, opening gifts

Philippa, opening gifts on her 7th birthday

Our daughter opening gifts at her birthday party

Philippa's 7th birthday party

She is an amazing, spirited, passionate and very clever girl with a wise head on her shoulders. She delights us every day with her humour, creative talents and affection.

I love my girl.

~ by Pip 'n' Milly Creations on June 5, 2011.

2 Responses to “Seven years on”

  1. Happy birthday Philippa!

    It is quite strange how time goes by more quickly, the older we get!

  2. Isn’t it just! I’m sure time didn’t fly by like this when I was a kid. I really enjoy my life and don’t want it to go so fast. Think we’ll spend some of this summer just chilling together and letting it all soak in.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

